Flowcharts are Useful

flowchart

Flow charts are really useful. No, really, they are. You don’t even have to draw all the little boxes (though I suppose you can, if you really like shapes; who knows, maybe drawing will stimulate the creative side of your brain!). Or maybe it’s technically called a “web” if you just have ideas and lines. But I don’t like the spider insinuations, so I’m going with “flow chart.”

“But WHY should I care about flow charts?” you’re probably asking. “What does this have to do with actual story progress?”

Everything. It has EVERYTHING to do with story progress.

See, sometimes I’ll just see things–almost like a vision. Whole scenarios will play out in my head, like I’m watching a real-life video. And when I write, I just write what I see. If I can’t describe it accurately enough, I draw a picture or create a diagram or make a list of possible alternate words to record the idea until I find the words to describe it.

But sometimes, a story can get bogged down by ideas. If you have too many ideas, and no clue how to organize them, you can hit just as much of a block as if you had no ideas. I might know exactly where I want to go, and what I want to happen before I get there, but how do I actually get there?

And that, my friends, is where Mr. Flow Chart comes in. Thanks to webby brainstorming techniques, Gian is now officially back in the storyline–which means (theoretically) a straight shot to the ending. So now it’s mostly a matter of how many chapters it’ll take. Time to go tally up my word count for chapter 19 so far.

Tally ho!

Leave a Reply

