Write What’s Not There

As I write this, it’s 12:30am, so I’m still counting right now as the 30th. Just a disclaimer.

  • First off, if you haven’t noticed, chapter 2 of Ignoble is now posted on both FictionPress and MediaMiner.
  • Chapter 3 is all typed up, FYI, and awaiting proofreading. Considering how many typos of “sin” instead of “skin” I already caught while typing, and how tired I was, proofreading is probably important. The chapter will most likely be entitled “Leave It At That,” though I considered naming it “Opt Out.”
  • Chapter 4 is a few sentences away from completion–the reason why chapter 3 is not already proofread and posted. Chapter 4 is written largely from Labriella’s perspective, as she brainstorms about how to get into Rome’s pants without his refusal…with a little surprise catalyst thrown in. Lime alert, making up for last chapter’s absence thereof. I haven’t named the chapter yet.

It’s been really encouraging to see people reading, following, and favoriting my story. As I’ve been hunting for stories online to read lately, I’ve been reminded of why I began writing this story in the first place. Sure, I was bored and didn’t have a book with me to read. But I also had devoured so many online stories that there were few left in my genre that appealed to me at the time. Exasperated, I realized that I had subconsciously developed an ideal male character in my mind’s eye, somewhere between a fantasy and a character I would want to read about…but he existed nowhere except in my mind.

And so I created him. And somehow, I ended up writing the kind of story that I wanted to read–the kind of story there are so few of. It’s a darker genre, traditional in its culture of men placed over women, but unconventional in its opportunities to flip things on their heads, and in its determination to get inside the characters’ heads.

And really, that’s what I wanted: An angsty fantasy story with graphic romance as both the problem and the solution. I wanted to see two strong main characters fight against themselves, each other, and the world to become one. I wanted to see the woman use her “lower” position in society to become valuable. I wanted to see the strong man have an identity crisis. I wanted to see a beautiful beast who remained beastly. I wanted to see up become down and down become sideways. I wanted to take the “known” (a well-known fairy tale in this case) and turn it into Wonderland (which is illogical/mind-boggling). If I saw one more Superwoman or girly-girl or sissy-boy, I thought I would scream…or vomit. If I read one more “let’s get pregnant and have a family,” I was going to throw something. I don’t want to read about a kid; I want to read about the love bunnies. Everybody else can go take a hike. And why do I have to wait until next chapter for a P.O.V. change?! What if I want to know what they think now, when it’s most important and fresh in my mind?

And so Beauty and the Beast was born–renamed The BeastKing Chronicles now. A series, but really all one story. A story that could continue on and on for an eternity, because it follows an immortal. A story whose romance doesn’t end in a single volume to trade for another minor-character couple, or end in a family and a happily-ever-after. A story that’s full of trials, just like life–but extraordinary trials, such as you could never actually live. A story full of characters who would be phenomenal or terrible to meet in person–the kind that could make you lust or scream, murder or sex up.

Don’t you want to read that kind of story?

What kind of story do you want to read?
And why aren’t you writing it?

Leave a Reply

