New Outline Complete

I will be changing the titles of my stories back to the original. Because I am conducting a rewrite, you need to be able to tell the difference right off between the old and the new. In addition, the current titles do not fit their respective stories half as well as they will suit the rewrite.

I am reverting volume 1 back to my original title of “Beauty and the Beast.” (I always liked that title best anyway.) Volume 2 will be “To Belong to a Beast,” since that old title suits the theme of the second volume very well.

This is where is gets important:
The NEW volume 1–the rewrite of both volumes 1 and 2–will be called “Ignoble.” It’s only appropriate, since the rewrite will revolve around Rome’s identity from start to finish.

20130921-155501.jpg

You may be interested to know that I have successfully outlined the story thus far into the new revised story. The outline does not tie Bre to the ladies of the evening, which is a change I already alerted you to. But what I am now realizing, is that neither does my outline include a multitude of limey content. In fact, Labriella is rather securely at Rome’s side as his servant. Don’t let this alarm you; there are still feelings there. Hopefully this arrangement will better facilitate the growth of their feelings toward one another, and even use Mistress Healer in that. But it also means that, so far, I could probably rate the story as “Teen” on FictionPress. Whether or not I want to do that is up for debate, because I don’t know how I’m going to end it yet, or what adjustments I’m going to make to Gian’s wedding (which has been postponed).

As I talk about dropping the rating, you’re probably wondering about all the coarse language and sexual insinuations in the story. What about those–wouldn’t they push the rating up? Maybe… Except I’m taking most of it out. Taking out the ladies of the evening extinguishes a boatload of strong sexual insinuations. The rest probably need to be toned down a bit anyway to match the new gist of the story.

But Sugabubble pointed out awhile back that it’s odd that Rome knows cuss words when he’s grown up isolated in a noble home. While nobility are no strangers to coarse language and insults, this reader has a point: Rome’s childhood was too sheltered for him to have had the opportunity to pick up common colorful language (although he definitely knows words like “hell” and “bitch” from the beast’s vocabulary, and he knows “bastard” because that is the proper term for an unrecognized child). And I might point out that although Bre has had plenty of exposure to coarse language on the errands she ran for the temple, she must be very resistant to actually utilizing such phrases, because she would be immediately flogged for using them within the temple walls Rome’s time in the tavern, and Labriella’s time away from the temple, can account for the relaxing of these rules, as can their increased comfort in one another’s presence (with the ability to “let loose”). But in the beginning, until Rome goes to town, there is no reason for either of them to be cussing…at least, not aloud.

I am fairly certain I will be changing the spelling of Rome’s name in the rewrite. This is something I have been deliberating over for some time now. I think the rewrite is the perfect opportunity to test it out.

Leave a Reply

