Alonza’s Party

I got my second writing book that I ordered. It’s called Passionate Ink, by Angela Knight. I just started in on it, but I’m already thrilled with it. It looks like just what I needed to fine-tune the sexual tension in my story, and orchestrate a successful progression of limes.

Speaking of limes, I’m moving things around in chapter 9 again. I wrote one scene, then wrote another, then completely rewrote the first. Now I’m going to do-si-do them, and connect in between. So now all the material is there; I just need to reorganize and slip a few things in.

Alonza’s party. *groan* I’m about ready to take it out. Okay, let me rephrase that: I’ve figured out a vital role for it to play in the revision of volume 1, which should bring Rome out of the forest and into the noble world in a more realistic way, and spur the plot and romance forward at a quicker pace. Anything I can do with Alonza’s party in volume 2 at this point sounds counterproductive to the ending I’m working toward. I really need to bring the temple back into the story. Alonza’s party is just going to distract from that, by being too big of an anti-climax…I think. I had a plan, and Alonza’s party was not the climax of that plan. It was going to be sexy, risque, and hardcore, but reading one of Janice Hardy’s blog articles recently confirmed for me that it would not be necessary, because it was not integral enough to the plot. I’ve been entrapping myself by working toward Alonza’s party, acting like the nobles are the mainstay of the novel, when really it’s Labriella’s estrangement from the temple (and everything that goes with it) that should be driving the entire story forward.

So, I’m going to finish rearranging chapter 9, and post it. After that, I don’t know. I have to figure out if I can go forward without doing another round of large-scale inter-volume revising. I think part of why writing has been so difficult, is because I have to keep trashing content because I’m meandering away from the plot as I write from scene to anticipated scene. I wish I could say that by doing this, I’m developing a more efficient way to write in the future. But I think what I’m discovering is that for me, writing is a continual process of trial and error—generating “cool” scenes that stick in my head as landing points, and then having to continually rearrange and/or rewrite them as I slowly discover more about my characters and my plot begins to reveal how it needs to be written. Maybe I’ll get faster at doing this the more times I craft a story from scratch, or the more volumes I finish. But I doubt the process itself will change, because of the way I draw ideas out of my head.

Leave a Reply

