From Chapter 18 to 19

In case you missed the notification, chapter 18 is posted, named “My Fight.” When Rome is summoned to a hearing suspecting his involvement in Lord Alonza’s demise, it’s up to Bre and the Wheat Girl to escape their room to intervene. But with a group even more powerful than the nobles arriving on the scene, Bre might have to choose between keeping her own secret safe or keeping Rome’s. The chapter is named for Bre and Rome’s individual resolve, each “stepping up to the plate” to protect the other, in their own way.

In the Author’s Notes section of the chapter, I warned you (my dear readers) that, unfortunately, there is a good chance the long stretches between updates will continue. Upon finishing last chapter, I was happily ready to blaze a trail into the next chapter. College homework, however, is very good at monopolizing time and depleting energy and concentration. Part-time work takes up a third to half of my day, and schoolwork gobbles up the rest. Since (contrary to belief) budding writers cannot live on bread crumbs alone, I am stuck in this situation until I can find another way.

Summer, however, should provide plenty of time to write, distraction-free. I look forward to it. I also look forward to whatever gaggle of writing workshops and conferences I can finagle my way into, whether online or in person. I might even make it to RWA’s annual conference, which is in San Diego this year.

Just so you’re aware: I changed the description of Volume 1 on FictionPress. The previous summary was quite boring, to be frank. The only way I could see to get around that was not to write the description in first person. I will probably end up changing the summary for Volume 2 as well, now that I have a better idea of what fit into the book (and what will be left to the next one). The only reason I’m holding off is because words like “alpha” and “pack” (which are in the current summary) draw in a certain audience, which I would like to keep, and those sorts of words will probably disappear from the vernacular if the summary isn’t written from Rome’s perspective.


SPOILER WARNING…

In case you’ve already made it to the end of chapter 18, and are wondering where I’m going with it… Worry less about Bre being left unconscious, and more about what lengths it may take to get Bre back. Provided Rome can successfully eject himself from the nobles after they’ve condemned him to death, rescuing Bre means Rome’s first personal entanglement with the temple—something Bre has spent most of her life trying to prevent, and for good reason. You had your first glimpse of the temple’s Powers and resolve at the end of chapter 18. Rome isn’t necessarily used to meeting his match in Power.

The strange thing I’m seeing as I begin to write chapter 19 is that plotline takes SO many less words than romance and relational development. I’ve accomplished more in 2300 words (action/plot-wise) than I feel like I have in the last 20,000. I’m not sure whether that’s because the groundwork took so long to lay, or if I’m just not writing enough of what Rome is thinking anymore. I feel like Rome’s actions speak for themselves at this point. But he’s already surprising me, talking more than he’s acting in the face of Bre’s second disappearance. Writing the beginning of chapter 19 might turn out to be more of a struggle against OOC than anything else. It would be simple, in/fight/out, if it weren’t for the Wheat Girl—which is turning out to be like a stop sign, slamming Rome to a halt. That’s a problem. Not necessarily a bad one, but she’s not supposed to have that strong of an effect over him yet. Finding a way around that may take time.


My Dear Reviewers:

Purple-wolf-howl: What caught me most off-guard about your review was your allusion to mystery in the story. Once you listed all those attributes, I could see why; I could think of specific instances that illustrated each word. But I suppose, in my narrow, categorical view of trying to squish my story into genres, I failed to realize the significance of the spectrum of my story: romance, action, sex, and mystery. Thank you, for helping me see. 🙂 I’m curious as to whether the mystery you see has to do with the temple, or with Rome, or even with Bre (and her developing Power)…?

Leave a Reply

